LEGO Marvel Super Heroes 2 to Get Avengers: Infinity War DLC

It’s that feeling again: the sensation of anticipation that comes before the impending premiere of a Marvel Cinematic Universe movie. MCU fans felt it last before Black Panther opened in cinemas last February; now it’s happening all over again for Avengers: Infinity War, set to come out on the 27th.

Leave it to LEGO and its gaming collaborators from WB Interactive and Traveller’s Tales to add to the hype. Yes, they’ve just announced the latest batch of DLC for LEGO Marvel Super Heroes 2. You only get three guesses as to what the theme is; the first two don’t count.

The Avengers: Infinity War DLC has got to impress players of LMSH2, and what better way to do it than by giving playable control over the mad titan of the hour, Thanos himself? He even brought his Black Order crew along: Corvus Glaive, Cull Obsidian, Proxima Midnight, and Ebony Maw.

27691977228 25b9349e94

Why make Thanos and his lackeys playable? That’s because the added game level for the Infinity War DLC is a villain stage, involving Thanos and the Black Order attacking Attilan. From their viewpoint, they must power through the defenses of the Inhuman homeland until they reach King Black Bolt.

But it’s not just the baddies getting new additions; other new playable characters included moody Teen Groot and the Hulk-buster 2.0 from the movie itself, pushing the total character count for LEGO Marvel Super Heroes 2 far beyond 200 at this point. That’s even more gameplay fun to be had.

Aside from the announcement that it’s coming, no date has been given as to when the Avengers: Infinity War DLC will actually arrive on all of LMSH2’s platforms (PC, Xbox One, PS4, Switch), but it’s bound to be soon. Hopefully it’ll be close to the film premiere on April 27.

Here’s the press release from Warner Bros. Gaming.

Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment today revealed the content for the Marvel’s Avengers: Infinity War Character and Level Pack, the new DLC for LEGO® Marvel Super Heroes 2. The upcoming pack, available at £2.49 on PlayStation® 4 and Steam and at £2.39 on Xbox One, adds a level and characters straight from the comics in celebration of the upcoming film, Marvel Studios’ Avengers: Infinity War, in theatres nationwide on 27th April.

This action-packed level offers players the chance to control Thanos, one of the most dangerous Super Villains in the Marvel Universe, and his ruthless army. The Mad Titan and the Children of Thanos have invaded Attilan to take on Black Bolt and the Inhumans in an all-new original game level. Working as a team, the menacing crew must work their way through the various levels of Attilan before they are given the opportunity to break through to Black Bolt’s throne. New unlockable characters Thanos, Corvus Glaive, Cull Obsidian, Proxima Midnight, Ebony Maw, Hulkbuster 2.0, and Groot (Avengers: Infinity War) add to the main game’s roster of over 200 Super Heroes and Super Villains.

Author: Albert Balanza

Teacher, student, dad, AFOL, psych geek & everything in between. :)

Leave a Reply